President Charlie Gemeinhardt  (President 2019-2020 and 2020-2021)

A little bit about Charlie...

"Several years after his  father, 1st Sergeant Otto Gemeinhardt, HQ Company, 260th Regiment, passed away  he became quite interested in World War II.  While attending the 2004 dedication events for World War II Memorial in D.C., Charlie and his wife Carol   learned of the 65th Infantry Division Association.  It was not until 2015 they attended their  first reunion, the New Orleans/Camp Shelby Reunion.    A short two years later at the Boston reunion Charlie was elected 2nd Vice President.  He is looking forward to seeing and meeting many more Legacy members as the association moves forward into a new phase  as we are “Right to Be Proud’  decedents of our Greatest Generation Veterans."

Why did you become a Legacy Member?

“The best way to describe attending your first Association Reunion is when you arrive you are greeted as if you are a long lost family member.  That truly is what the association is - a family of WWII veterans and family members that have a unique common bond.  I have somewhat of a unique reason for my desire to perpetuate the memory of the 65th Division.  My Dad was a original member of the 65th when it was activated at Camp Shelby.  Shortly after arriving at Camp Shelby he met his bride to be, Loyette,  who was the PX manager of the division’s PX and they were married in the 260th Infantry Regiment’s Chapel at Camp Shelby.  Consequently both of my parents had a bond to the 65th.

Over the next three years, 2018-2020, we will celebrate and remember  the Legacy of the 65th during it’s 75th Anniversary Years.  With the dedication and participation of current and future Legacy members we will carry the banner - Right to Be Proud -  in honor of our loved ones who fought for the freedoms we hold so dear today”

 Vice President David Ream 

A little bit about David...

David is the son-in-law of 65th Infantry veteran William B. Sharp.  David and his wife Sibyl learned about the 65th Infantry Division Association from the Association’s website in 2004 when Sibyl was doing research on her father’s military service during World War II.  As a result of contacts make through the website, David and Sibyl attended their first reunion that fall in Houston, Texas.  It was at that reunion that they learned of the Associations plans to do a 65th Infantry Division European Tour in 2005.  David and Sibyl joined that Tour, tracing the route of the 65th Infantry, sharing first hand the experiences and recollection of the many veterans on the Tour, and making new friends with both veterans and family members.  David and Sibyl have stayed active and involved with the Association ever since.  David was part of the team that worked with our veterans in the initial establishment of our Legacy Group and has served as the Association’s Chaplin.   Sibyl currently serves as the Association’s Treasurer.

 Why did you become a Legacy Member?

Membership in the 65th Infantry Division Association was a natural transition as we worked with a number of our veterans who had a strong desire to see the continuation of the Association and to help preserve and promote the history and legacy of the 65th Infantry Division.  The Executive Board of veterans at the time approved the establishment of the Legacy Group, and children and family members were invited to join the Association.  We did not hesitate.  I for one find it both an honor and a privilege to help perpetuate a history of this very special group of men who, along with their families, sacrificed so much so that we can enjoy the freedoms we have today.  They truly are in so many ways, “the greatest generation.”  Unlike many World War II army divisions which continue on today, the 65th Infantry Division was deactivated at the end of the war.  As such, preserving their history and the contributions these men made for us and our Country needs our special attention to see that that history is not lost.  All of our families and friends need to pull together in this effort to ensure that,     “We shall never forget.”

               As we now move forward with an Association that has transitioned its leadership to its legacy members, I am honored to be ask to serve as the Association’s vice president.  Our leadership team is committed to a mission to preserve and promote the history and legacy of the 65th Infantry Division, while developing a culture of fellowship among the descendants, family, and friends of the veterans of the 65th Infantry.  I am committed to that mission, and hope you will join me both in this effort and in becoming a life time member of our Association.

Charlie Gemeinhardt
Vice President
David Ream

Recording Secretary    
Joan Pratt
Sibyl Ream
Sergeant at Arms
Eran Nadler
ChaplainBill Phillips
Association AdministratorJackie Hanson

Corresponding Secretary

Barbara DuBois Russell
Halbert Magazine Publisher & EditorDebbie McNiff
Halbert Magazine Co-editor
Jackie Hanson
Membership ChairLisa Brill -Nadler
Merchandise Chair
Ben Diaz
Jim Hanson
Social Media Administrators

Christine Phillips

Steve Schell

Members At Large:Ed G. Lewis

Scott Russell

Courtney Walker Saunier

Current Officers of the 65th Division Association